Voting Ends At APC Convention, Aspirants Wait To Know Their Fate

The presidential aspirants are now waiting in suspense to know the outcome after voting ended at the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential primary in Abuja.

The voting, which began early Wednesday morning, ended by 7.45 am amid tight security and scruntiny by agents of the aspirants.

Over 2,000 delegates from across the states and the FCT voted for their preferred aspirants.

Those running for APC presidential ticket are: Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Ahmad Lawan, Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Rochas Okorocha, Dave Umahi, Yahaya Bello, Tein Jack-Rich, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Emeka Nwajiuba, Ahmed Sani Yarima, Prof Ben Ayade and Ikeobasi Mokhelu.

Earlier seven aspirants had stepped down for a former Lagos State governor, Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Forty-year-old aspirant, Felix Nicholas stepped down for Osinbajo.

There was a little drama however when voting was halted over issues related to delegate list for about 30 minutes, during which the former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, was seen engaging in a heated argument with some agents.

Before then, President Muhammadu Buhari had left Eagle Square, venue of the convention, at about 1.20am on Wednesday.

The president had urged party members to vote the candidate who stands the best chance of securing victory for the party at the polls.

The sorting of votes by national delegates has commenced and the winner expected to be announced in a few hours.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: