Senate Confirms Eight New Supreme Court Justices

The Nigerian Senate has confirmed the appointments of eight Supreme Court justices after the Chairman of Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, presented the report of his panel’s screening exercise during pleanry on Tuesday.

President Muhammadu Buhari had in a letter read by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, penultimate week, asked the Senate to approve the appointment of the eight justices.

The appointments were based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council, Mr Buhari said in the letter.

The nominees are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

Senator Bamidele, while presenting the screening report, told his colleagues that all the nominated judges are eminently qualified for the exalted positions and that there was no petition against any of them.

The Senators therefore confirmed their appointments, based on the report.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: