Southern Leaders Slam N50bn Suit On Buhari For Alleged Nepotism


Sixteen socio-cultural leaders from southern Nigeria have slammed a N50bn suit on President Muhammadu Buhari for alleged nepotism, to wit – marginalising the people of the southern region from appointments and sharing of funds in his administration.

The suit was filed at the federal high court Abuja.

The plaintiffs, led by Edwin Clark, seek N50 billion against the president and other defendants as “punitive, aggravated and exemplary damages” to the constituents of the plaintiffs for the “illegal, wrongful discriminatory and unconstitutional acts”.

They urged the court to determine whether Mr. Buhari acted in compliance with Section 1(2), section 14(3) section 217(3) of the 1999 constitution (as amended) in appointing top officials since the inception of his administration in 2015.

They also asked the court to determine whether it was not “reckless and adverse to the interest of Nigeria”, for Buhari to obtain a loan facility from the Islamic Development Bank, African Development Bank, the World Bank, China, Japan, and Germany amounting to $22.7 billion (USD), for infrastructural development, only to allocate a bulk of the fund to the northern region.

The Plaintiffs claimed that “less than 1%” of the funds allocated to the south east zone “blatantly offends the equitable distribution principle of contained in section 16 (1) (a) (b) and S16 (2) (a) (b) (c) of the 1999 constitution (as amended)”.

Co-plaintiffs in the suit are Reuben Fasoranti, Afenifere leader; John Nwodo, president general of Ohaneze Ndigbo; Pogu Bitrus; Ayo Adebanjo; Alaowei Bozimo; Sarah Doketri, Chukwuemeka Ezeife, Idongsit Nkanga, Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele, Julie Umukoro, and Stephen Bangoji.

Others are Tijani Babatunde, Rose Obuoforibo, Adakole Ijogi and Charles Nwakeaku.

Buhari; Abubakar Malami, attorney general of the federation; Mohammed Sani-Omolori, clerk of the national assembly, and the Federal Character Commission are the defendants in the suit.

Solomon Asemota, Tijani Ayanlaja, Chuks Muoma, Albert Akpomudje, Tayo Oyetibo, Pius Akubo, Nella Andem-Rabana, Mike Ozekhome, Akinpelu Onigbinde, and Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa, all senior advocates of Nigeria, are representing the plaintiffs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: