UPDATED: No Suprises As Buhari Appoints Allies, Keyamo, Aregbesola, Akume, Others As Ministers


Almost two months after he was sworn in for a second term, there were no surprises as President Muhammadu Buhari finally sent the names of his ministerial nominees to the senate for confirmation, keeping faith with old allies and party faithfuls.Mr. Buhari turned down an inclusive government, appointing Festus Keyamo, a former spokesman of his 2019 campaign, Rauf Aregbesola, former governor of Osun state, former Benue governor, George Akume and Godswill Akpabio, former governor of Akwa Ibom as ministers.

Also on the list that was sent to the senate on Monday and read out by Senate President Lawan during plenary on Tuesday are Sunday Dare, executive commissioner at the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Sharon Ikeazor, a former lawmaker, Tayo Alasoadura, a former federal lawmaker and Olorunnibe Mamora, former speaker of the Lagos house of assembly.

Others are former governor of Ekiti State, Niyi Adebayo, Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Senator Olutayo Alasoadura.

Immediate former ministers who made the list, include Rotimi Amaechi, Raji Fashola, Adamu Adamu, and Lai Mohammed.

Meanwhile, the senate on Tuesday suspended its annual recess to enable it screen the ministerial nominees.

See full list below:

1.Dr. Ikechukwu Ogah (Abia State)

2. Mohammed Musa Bello (Adamawa State) reappointed

3. Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom State)

4. Chris Ngige (Anambra State) reappointment

5. Sharon Ikeazor (Anambra State)

6.Adamu Adamu (Bauchi State) reappointment

7.Ambassador Maryam Katagun (Bauchi State)

8. Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa State)

9.George Akume (Benue State)

10.Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno State) reappointment

11. Goddy Jedy Agba (Cross River State)

12.Festus Keyamo (Delta State)

13. Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi State)reappointment

14. Osagie Ehanire (Edo State) reappointment

15.Clement Ike (Edo State)

16. Richard Adeniyi Adebayo (Ekiti State)

17. Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu State) reappointment

18.Ali Isa Pantami (Gombe State)

19. Emeka Nwajiuba (Imo State)

20. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa State)

21. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna State) reappointment

22.Muhammad Mahmood (Kaduna State)

23.Sabo Nanono (Kano State)

24.Major General Bashir Salihi Magashi (Kano State)

25.Hadi Sirika (Katsina State) reappointment

26.Abubakar Malami (Kebbi State) reappointment

27.Ramatu Tijjani (Kogi State)

28. Lai Mohammed (Kwara State)

29.Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara State)

30.Babatunde Fashola (Lagos State) reappointment

31.Adeleke Mamora (Lagos State)

32. Mohammed H. Abdullahi (Nasarawa State)

33. Zubair Dada (Niger State)

34. Olamilekan Adegbite (Ogun State)

35. Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo State)

36. Rauf Aregbesola (Osun State)

37. Sunday Dare (Oyo State)

38.Paulen Talen (Plateau State)

39. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers State)

40. Maigarai Dingyadi (Sokoto State)

41. Sale Mamman (Taraba State)

42. Abubakar D. Aliyu (Yobe State)

43. Sadiya Umar Faruk (Zamfara State)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: