BREAKING: Lawan Emerges President Of Ninth Senate



Ahmad Lawan of Yobe-North senatorial zone has been elected by his colleagues as the 14th senate president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

In a secret ballot after the inauguration of the ninth Senate, Lawan beat his challenger, Ali Ndume of Borno South by 79 -28  votes.

All the 107 senators-elect voted.

Lawan was the concensus candidate of his partly, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). He also enjoyed the nod of President Muhammadu Buhari.

The two lawmakers were the only two nominated by their colleagues on the floor of the chamber.

Ndume, who was later endorsed by the opposition, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), had refused to step down for fellow party man, Lawan despite the entreaties of APC leaders.

He said he wanted to leave it to senators to decided who should lead them.

Mr. Lawan was immediately sworn by the clerk of the senate after he was declared winner.


Details loading….

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: