Ag CJN Swears In Rest 13 Members Of Election Petitions Tribunals



The Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Ibrahim Mohammed, has sworn in the remaining 13 members of the 2019 Election Petition Tribunals.

A statement from Mr Akande Festus, Supreme Court’s Director, Press and Information said that the ceremony took place on Thursday in Abuja at the Supreme Court.

The members are justices A.O. Onovo, R.O. Odugu, S.B. Belgore, T.A.O. Oyekan-Abullai, A.J. Coker, and E.I. Oritsejafor.

Others are justices M.C. Okoh, O.S. Olusanya, C.A. Ononeze-Madu, P.U. Nnodum and J.C.L. Okibe.

Addressing the new members of the tribunal, the acting CJN admonished them to be of good character and endeavour to live above board.

He said this was because all eyes were on them with a view to seeing them dispense justice without a tinge of partiality or favoritism.

Justice Mohammed also reminded them of the sacred nature of the oath they had just taken, stressing that it had become a bond between them and their creator.

He added that there would be no room for excuses or any performance below approved standards.

Mohammed informed the new tribunal members that they were thoroughly examined and later fished out from the numerous judges in the country who were equally eminently qualified for this task.

“That, alone, is enough credit that you should cherish and guard jealously,” he said.

Meanwhile, two members, Justices I.O. Kasali and M.O. Obadina could not attend the ceremony.



Categories: News


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: