Angry Protesters Storm INEC Osogbo Headquarters Over Osun Rerun

Hundreds of angry Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) supporters on Monday stormed the Osun State headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Osogbo, protesting against the state rerun governorship election ordered by the commission, accusing the electoral umpire of conspiring with the ruling party, All Progressives Congress (APC).

The protesters carried placards with various inscriptions such as “No To rerun, “INEC don’t co after he got the highest number of votes in the Saturday’s Governorship Election in the state.

The people of the state have spoken and that majority of the voters wanted Adeleke as the state governor and that the peoples’ wish should be respected, the protesters’ placards said.

INEC  had on Sunday declared the Osun State governorship election inconclusive.

The commission also fixed the rerun poll in the seven polling units where election result was cancelled for Thursday, September 27, 2018.

The PDP candidate, Senator Ademola Adeleke scored 254,698 votes to beat his All Progressives Congress rival, Gboyega Oyetola, who polled 254,345 votes.

However, INEC said Adeleke could not be declared the winner because the number of votes cancelled (3,498) was higher than 353 by which the PDP candidate defeated Mr. Oyetola.

The ADP candidate, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti scored 49,742, while the ADC candidate, Alhaji Fatai Akinabade, polled 7,681 votes.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Joseph Fuwape, who is also the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology Akure, announced the result and ordered a rerun Sunday.

HE said, “We must note that during the presentation by the collation officers from different local government areas, we had issues in some polling units.

“There was an issue at the Orolu Local Government Area. There was a problem of ballot box snatching and 393 votes were cancelled. At unit 004 of the same Orolu LGA, there was also an issue of snatching of ballot box and 387 votes were cancelled. At Registration Area 9 unit 003 there were 167 registered voters. So, for Orolu LGA where there was cancellation, we had 947 registered voters.

“At Ife South LGA, there was also cancellation of election due to the problem of card reader malfunctioning at unit 010 where there were 502 registered voters.

“At Oyere in Ife North LGA, we also had cancellation of election. Fifty one people were accredited but there were 200 votes that were cast, with that, there was cancellation due to irregularities of over voting. Number of registered voters at that unit 02 is 353. In Osogbo at Unit 017, there was issue of absconding of the presiding officer; to this effect, the election there was cancelled. The number of registered voters was 884. So, the total number of registered voters at the polling units where the electoral officer cancelled is 3,498.

“We should recall that early this morning we presented reasons why a candidate could be returned or may not be returned.

“From the analysis of the result we had, the difference between the two major parties is 353 votes and the number of voters in units where elections were cancelled is 3,498.

“As a Returning Officer, it is not possible to declare any party as the clear winner of this election on the first ballot. I, Prof. Joseph Fuwape declare this election inconclusive.”

The PDP had rejected INEC position that the election was inconclusive.


Categories: News


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: