Secondus Elected PDP Chairman In Convention Dominated By Same Characters Rejected By Nigerians In 2015

Former acting chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Uche Secondus, has emerged the new chairman of the party after an election held at the Eagles Square Abuja on Saturday.

Interestingly, the same characters who were rejected by Nigerians in 2015 dominated the convention.

The chairman of PDP convention electoral committee, Gabriel Suswam, who announced the results, said Mr. Secondus got a total of 2,000 votes from the total 2,296 votes cast.

Former Nigerian ambassador to Germany, Tunde Adeniran, who scored a total vote of 231 votes, came a distant second.

AIT founder, Raymond Dokpesi and Taoheed Adedoja scored 66 and 0 votes respectively to come third and fourth respectively.

However, Adeniran and Dopkesi have rejected the outcome of the convention that saw Secondus emerge as party chairman.

They said the processes was compromised.

Mr. Dokpesi stated that he picked exception to the circulation of a document referred to as “Unity List” to delegates asking them to vote for the people on the list.

Mr. Adeniran called for the cancellation of the results.

Recall that the convention committee had earlier announced the ban on all form of campaign at the venue of the convention.

The chairman of the National Convention Planning Committee, Ifeanyi Okowa, while responding to the allegation, said his committee had not officially received any complaints.

Notwithstanding the complaints, Mr. Secondus and other elected officials were immediately sworn in after the announcement.

They were sworn in by a lawyer and a former candidate for the Ondo state governorship, Tayo Jegede and now becomes the new National Working Committee (NWC) of the PDP.


See Below the full list of new members of PDP NWC:

Deputy National Chairman ( South); Yemi Akinwonmi- Ogun

Deputy National Chairman ( North); Garba Gamawa- Bauchi

National Secretary; Ibrahim Tsauri- Katsina

Deputy National Secretary; Abubakar Mustapha

National Treasurer; Aribisala Adewale- Ekiti

Deputy National Treasurer; Wada Masu-Kano

Financial Secretary; Abdullahi Maibasira- Niger

Deputy Fin. Sec.; Irona Gerald-Imo

National Organizing Secretary; Austin Akobundu- Abia

Dep. Nat. Org. Sec.; Hassan Yakubu- Nasarawa

Publicity Secretary; Kola Ologbondiyan- Kogi

Dep. Nat. Pub. Sec.; Diran Odeyemi- Osun

National Legal Adviser; Emmanuel Enoidem- Akwa Ibom

Dep. Nat. Leg. Ads.; Ahmed Liman- Sokoto

National Auditor; Adamu Mustapha-Yobe

Dep. Nat. Auditor; Divine Arong

National Woman Leader; Mariya Waziri-Kebbi

Dep. Nat. Woman Leader; Hadizat Umoru- Edo

National Youth Leader; Udeh Okoye-Enugu

Dep. Nat. Youth Leader; Umar Maina- Adamu


Categories: News, Politics

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: